Finnish Ancestry and Fazer Blue

I’ve had a couple of busy months behind me, so apologies for not having had the energy to blog. My time was taken up by not only such normal things as work and a hectic life, but also the most sinister tonsillitis you could ever imagine, lasting for five weeks! I ended up visiting the doctor twice, as the antibiotics I was prescribed, did not get rid of my cough and I subsequently managed to sprain my ribs from excessive coughing! Very painful and very irritating!

During my five weeks of illness, hubby and son were mostly very caring and helpful, although they found it extremely funny to take the Mickey out of my ever changing voice! First I was called a Minion by son and then when my voice got squeaky, hubby told me I sounded like Mickey Mouse shouting for Pluto!

My grandfather with his brothers, grandson's of the Lundahls
My grandfather with his brothers, grandson’s of the Lundahls

It was during this period of illness, that we managed to have a really nice moment with son, sitting together cosily on the sofa, me wrapped in a blanket telling him about his ancestors in Finland. You see, these things suddenly become extremely important when you live abroad and you want your child to feel a connection to your country as well as understand and embrace that part of their heritage.

The 17-year old looked at me politely when I told him about my ancestors in Finland, Selma Lundahl (nee Heerman) and Arthur Lundahl, who had founded the Finnish National Theatre (Kansallisteatteri). As I was proudly explaining in more detail to son – who is currently a drama student – about these hugely important people in Finnish history (well at least in my mind!), my voice broke a bit, and I could feel myself get a bit teary eyed. Now, I don’t know if it was pride of my ancestors or the fact that I was unwell that brought the emotions on, or maybe it was simply my concern that my son would never understand his heritage as he had never lived in Finland.

“Why are you getting emotional, mum?” son asked bewildered. “Because it is important!” I exclaimed with a high pitch voice, “You need to understand your heritage and have a connection to Finland!”

“But I do have a connection to Finland!” son answered defensively, “I love Fazer blue!”

Yep well, admittedly it is the best chocolate in the world, but not quite the answer I was looking for.

Fazer chocolate in their classic blue wrapper
Fazer chocolate in their classic blue wrapper
6 Comments Add yours

  1. Definitely the best chocolate in the world

    Like

    1. Absolutely! And to think that Karl Fazer’s dad told him in 1891 he would never make a living as a chocolatier!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kaari3 says:

    Lovely story. I get tear eyed also in the same situation, emotional.

    Like

    1. Glad you liked it and good to hear I’m not the only one getting emotional!

      Like

  3. Mutta hei onneksi ei sanonut ‘Marabou’ 😀

    Like

    1. Aivan! Sehän olisi jo melkein ollut äidille sydärin paikka! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

